You are here

Feds Teaching Award

The Federation of Students (Feds) Teaching Award is presented every year to professors who have demonstrated an outstanding contribution to undergraduate student learning. The Feds Teaching Award recognizes non-conventional teaching techniques, opportunities for experiential learning, and a long-term commitment and dedication towards ensuring academic success for undergraduate students.


Is there a teacher who has inspired you this term? Complete the nomination form to celebrate great teaching at the University of Waterloo.

Nominate a teacher today!

Recipient of the 2017 Feds Teaching Award

Congratulations to the winner of the 2017 Federation of Students Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award: Dr. Frankie Condon, Associate Professor, English Language and Literature!

Dr. frankie Condon giving a speech after receiving the Feds Teaching Award

The Federation of Students Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award is based solely on student nominations and feedback, showing the impact the recipient has had on their students. A high volume of nominations were received for Professor Condon that all spoke extremely highly of her courses as well as her enthusiasm and commitment to student success.

The award was presented at the Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance’s (OUSA) Partners in Higher Education Dinner on March 30. The annual dinner has become a tradition that brings together an array of partners and stakeholders from Ontario’s post-secondary sector. Students, politicians, researchers, advocates, faculty, and university administrators come together to network in a less formal environment than the typical lobby meeting, and celebrate those who are dedicated to progress with a positive student experience.

Each OUSA member school presents a faculty member from their respective institutions with a Teaching Award. Professor Condon used this opportunity as a platform to send a message about mental health. She received the only standing ovation of the evening, and it was well deserved.

Past Recipients

Past winners of the Feds Teaching Awards!

Michelle Ashburner

Prof. Rohan Jayasundera

Dr. Josh D. Neufeld
Dr. Chad Wriglesworth

Alex Shum

Dr. Gordon Stubley

Dr. Mark Seasons

Professor Doug Kirton

Dr. Robert B. Mann